Award-Winning Double Bassist To Appear With Wimbledon Symphony Orchestra

He will perform works by Ravel during the WSO's late Spring concert

Toby Hughes

Acclaimed double bassist Toby Hughes is being welcomed by Wimbledon Symphony Orchestra for their late Spring concert on April 4.


Toby will be playing works by Ravel arranged for double bass and orchestra by composer and regular WSO conductor Leo Geyer.


Toby is one of the UK’s leading double bass soloists - a genuine virtuoso of the instrument. He has won a number of competitions and prizes - the first double bassist to win the Bromsgrove International Music Competition, the ROSL string section final, and the Tunbridge Wells International Young Concert Artists competition.


Full programme:


SCHUBERT Symphony no. 5

RAVEL Pavane (arr. Geyer)

RAVEL Un Grand Sommeil Noir (arr. Geyer)

RAVEL Vocalise-étude en forme de habanera (arr. Geyer)


RAVEL Le Tombeau de Couperin

HAYDN Symphony no. 104 (‘London’)


Soloist: Toby Hughes

Conductor: Leo Geyer


It takes place on Saturday, April 4 from 7.30pm-9.30pm at Holy Trinity Church, The Broadway, Wimbledon, SW19 1SB.

March 11, 2020