Merton Tories Announce Shadow Cabinet

Opposition leader unveils her team

Following the elections on 22nd May, Councillor Oonagh Moulton, the Leader of Merton Conservative Group, has announced her shadow cabinet for the forthcoming municipal year.

It sees some new faces join the Conservative frontbench as well as some changes of portfolio. The new Shadow Cabinet is as follows:

Oonagh Moulton – Leader of the Opposition     

James Holmes – Deputy Leader and Shadow Cabinet Member for Education           

Linda Taylor – Shadow Cabinet Member for Young People

Suzanne Grocott - Shadow Cabinet Member for Finance         

David Williams - Shadow Cabinet Member for Community Engagement                       

David Simpson - Shadow Cabinet Member for Community Safety and Enforcement                            

Janice Howard - Shadow Cabinet Member for Culture, Leisure and Housing

John Bowcott - Shadow Cabinet Member for Planning and Regeneration                    

Gilli Lewis-Lavender - Shadow Cabinet Member for Health and Older People         

David Dean - Shadow Cabinet Member for Environment                    

Stephen Crowe - Shadow Cabinet Member for Transport and Parking.

Councillor Oonagh Moulton said: "I am pleased to announce a new Shadow Cabinet which reflects the experience and wide ranging skills of our Conservative Group on Merton Council. As well as welcoming those colleagues who are joining the shadow cabinet for the first time, I would also like to congratulate Councillor James Holmes on his election as Deputy Leader of Merton Conservative Group. Together we will be working hard along with all Conservative councillors to hold the new Labour administration to account on behalf of residents right across the borough."

June 6, 2014