Commons Conservators’ Election – Results Announced

Three re-elected & two new members

The results of the 2012 election of Conservators for Wimbledon and Putney Commons, have been released by Electoral Reform Services, who were responsible for the receipt and counting of votes.

The following five candidates were elected:
David Devons 7,565 votes
Jenny Evanson 7,244 votes
Andrew Simon 7,087 votes
Robin Touquet 6,920 votes
John Horrocks 6,314 votes

Three candidates, David Devons, Andrew Simon and John Horrocks, were re-elected, having been Conservators previously. The two other successful candidates, Jenny Evanson and Robin Touquet, are new to the Board of Conservators. Norman Plastow MBE retired as a Conservator and did not stand as a candidate at this election. Mrs Diana de Coverly Veale was not re-elected.

Gordon Vincent, the Conservators' Clerk & Ranger, Chief Executive commented:
"I congratulate all the successful candidates. The candidates standing for election were all of a high calibre and care deeply for the Commons. I welcome Jenny Evanson and Robin Touquet as new colleagues. I must express particular thanks to Norman Plastow for his many years of dedicated service to the Commons, and also to Diana de Coverley Veale, for her service over the last six years.” Mr Vincent went on to say “The turn out for this election was slightly lower, at 19%, than in 2009. We will look at ways to encourage more of the levy-payers to exercise their vote at future elections”.

The election for Conservators is held every three years. There are eight Conservators, five of whom are elected by the 67,000 levy-payers living within three-quarters of a mile of the Commons. The remaining three are appointed by Government Departments.

5th March 2012