Wimbledon Tennis Honours The Queue

New exhibition at local museum

Participate

Sign up for our free newsletter

Comment on this story on the

The Wimbledon Lawn Tennis Museum has opened a new exhibition exploring the traditions and history of the Wimbledon Queue and offers visitors an intriguing insight into the queueing experience.

Queueing has long been established as a particularly British trait, and nowhere is this more exemplary than in the Wimbledon Queue. In a typically British fashion a 'Code of Conduct' applies to 'The Queue', kept in check by the Honorary Stewards.

The code includes a clear non-reservation policy where those queueing must be present in person and may not place equipment in lieu of themselves.

For well over a century, Wimbledon has attracted more spectators than it can accommodate. In 1927, more than 22,000 spectators were present on the first Saturday – a new ground record of the time. Queues started outside the Grounds at 5 am and more than 2,000 people were turned away.

Later, in 1991, Wimbledon experienced one of the wettest first weeks on record and the Sunday became a unique day in Wimbledon's history with play taking place on middle Sunday for the very first time. The queue stretched for 1.5 miles outside the grounds and a carnival atmosphere ensued with a special programme and full catering facilities.

Today, the Association of Wimbledon Honorary Stewards is responsible for crowd management, acting as 'hosts' to the public.

The exhbition includes for potential queuers and a display of objects amassed from queueing over the years.

Further Museum highlights include the 'ghost' of John McEnroe, the renowned Championship Trophies, the 200° Cinema and CentreCourt360, the new viewing experience in Centre Court. There are award-winning behind-the-scenes tours of the Grounds available for groups and individuals which take in some areas out-of-bounds during the tournament, contributing to the ultimate Museum experience.

For up-to-date information visit the Wimbledon Lawn Tennis Museum website.

March 28, 2011